Ming Dynasty Paintings

Chinese history, a subject that I have always been interested in but had limited knowledge in. Thankfully an important part of the Chinese history and culture is the artwork; otherwise it would be even more difficult to put together the history of the Chinese. Many of their traditional art styles are fading, such as the longstanding tradition of paper cut art (china.org). The one style that caught my eye while searching over the class website was the paintings from the Ming Dynasty, specifically the paintings of Chen Hongshou.

Chen Hongshou lived from 1599 to 1652 and is most noted for his paintings of ancient personalities at the end of the Ming Dynasty (Britannica.com). Chen did not always enjoy success during his life. He failed examinations twice before receiving official status in 1645 but had to shortly afterward to avoid the Manchus. At this point in his life he decided to become a Buddhist monk but struggled most his life between the ideals of Confucian government and his newfound Buddhism. This internal clash can be seen when reflecting on his paintings.

 

Magnolia and Erect Rock, Date unknown, Chen Hongshou

An example of this struggle between Buddhism and Confucian ideals is found in the painting above. Magnolia and Erect Rock was completed early to mid 17th century and is one my favorite paintings of Chens. In the painting it is easy to see how Chen’s skills in calligraphy translated over to his painting style. This is the main reason in that I am attracted to this style of painting. The elegant lines of decorative color surrounding the magnolia combined with the exaggerated sharp contrasts of the rock in the background make for an appealing image.

 

 

Sources:

http://www.cultural-china.com/chinaWH/html/en/24Arts222.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ming_Dynasty_painting

http://www.china.org.cn/english/culture/227627.htm

http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/109133/Chen-Hongshou

http://my.opera.com/JohnWilliamGodward/albums/showpic.dml?album=4438912&picture=68483172

4 thoughts on “Ming Dynasty Paintings

  1. I really enjoyed your blog and thought that you did an excellent job. You gave great background information Chen Hongshou and about this beautiful piece. I also enjoyed this piece very much and loved the fact that it showed both hard and soft. Great job!

  2. I also chose the Ming Dynasty art work as my second blog in the non-modern assignments. However I am absolutely impressed with the piece you chose as well as your clarity in your citations. I agree with the fact that there seems to be a visual conflict between the rock and the flowers, but something that catches my eye and brings a question to my mind is the butterfly. Out of curiosity I was wondering if you felt that there was any significance to the butterfly and its position on the canvas, or do you feel that it was simply an artistic touch?

  3. I really enjoy the piece that you chose. I also thought you made a great connection between the events of the time and the piece that he painted. I think you did a great job giving us background information on the piece and the artist. Good Job!

  4. This is a beautiful piece of art and I am glad that your blog has enlightened me to more of the Ming Dynasty artwork. There definitely is elegant lines of decorative color surrounding the magnolia as you said and I really enjoy looking at this piece of art. I am surprised more American artists do not follow in this Chinese art style, it seems like a very relaxing and graceful art form.

Leave a comment